It’s only my opinion…

Have you ever been shopping minding your own business and out of nowhere a random person approaches you and ask your opinion?  Do you lie? Are you honest?

Well, today was that day — while I was browsing the shoe section a woman taps me on the shoulder and ask if I had a few minutes to help her.  “Sure”, I said – she had two pairs of shoes in her hands.  One was a wedge with a strange flower pattern on the heel in mustard and the other pair was a wooden heel sandal in brown that ties at the ankle.  I immediately told her the wooden sandals were nicer but then she said “Really, you don’t like these wedges? (holding them up to my face) I’ve been looking for this color a while.”  I gave her a blank stare and told her “No, I don’t like them but if she really liked them to buy them because spring was around the corner.” I guess I wasn’t clear enough or perhaps she was trying to change my mind because then she modeled them for me.  My answer was still a definite NO.  Maybe I should have said yes but then it wouldn’t be fair to her – those wedges were horrendous.  I didn’t feel bad, it’s only my opinion. 🙂

A little while later, I was looking at some jeans when another woman ask for my opinion. (I’m feeling like a Fashionista) She holds up a size 8 and a size 10 pair of jeans and ask me which one would be better.  (Inside voice:HUH?) This is what she asks, “Should I get a size 10 if I’m trying to lose weight (but look – they are stretchy) so maybe I should get the size 8 because I’m planning of losing 10 lbs – should I get the Calvin Klein or Michael Kors?” WHAT!? Excuse me?  I was completely at a loss of words – after a few more rants she answered her own question.  I was like this woman is nuts — who buys clothes smaller because they are planning on losing weight? That’s absurd.  Needless to say, I quickly left that section shaking my head.  Some people are so strange…LOL

I’m also guilty… HA! 

A couple of weeks ago I was shopping for boots and while I was looking in the mirror modeling (lol)  – a couple with their daughter were passing by and the wife said, “Those are nice.” So I stopped them and asked which ones they thought look better. (I’m not shy)  I was wearing one knee-high suede boot and one all leather boot underneath the knee.  The wife said the knee-high and the husband said the all leather.  Then the wife looks at me and says, “Listen to him.”  I thought that was hilarious – the leather boots were my first choice as well.  When in doubt ask a man… :wink wink:

At the end of the day, there is absolutely nothing wrong with giving or receiving an opinion if asked.  Why not!?  Just be honest….

Do you have any stories?

Peace & Love xoxox

Leave a Reply

