What I learned…

One year ago today, I decided to start a blog. Why not!? I wanted to get in the habit of writing daily — even if it was just a few words. (shhh… I want to write a book.)  What better method than a quick daily rant on a blog to get me going. Right!? :sigh: These are a few of the things I learned along the way.

1. I learned that easy writing doesn’t come so easily.

During the first few months, I wrote daily and always had something to say but as the months passed and the days turned into weeks I found it more difficult to sit down and write a simple fifty words.  It wasn’t as easy as I thought (I ran out of topics – perhaps?), I started to put this enormous pressure on myself which resulted in severe writers block.  I was discouraged.  I felt angry and disappointed in myself.  It wasn’t until I took a step back, way-back, cleared my mind, that I realized that it was O.K. not to be O.K.  It wasn’t the end of the world.  So now, when I feel inspired I take the time and I rant but if not it’s O.K. – Tomorrow is another day.

2. I learned to accept good and bad criticism. This was very difficult – I do have thick skin but it hurt like hell to hear the negative comments from the ones you love.  Yikes!

3. I learned that people don’t like when you write about their issues.  Sorry, if you struck a nerve I will definitely speak my mind.  I promise that I will be gentle but remember it’s my opinion.  Be happy – you inspired a blog. HA!

4. I learned that a blog is simply a conversation written out.  😉

5. I learned that I have a unique style of writing.

Last but not least…

6. I learned that I still have a lot to learn.  Writing and blogging is a learning process.

I am proud to say that since November 01, 2011 – I have posted 186 blogs. It’s not a years worth but I am proud of myself. {high-five} Will you stay on this journey with me? I still have so much more to say… :wink wink:

Peace & Love xox

4 thoughts on “What I learned…

  1. I like them!! Who cares what people think, people are never happy!! And sometimes it got me a few months to read but I read almost 10 in one night!! Keep it up!!!

Leave a Reply

