Sometimes I wish I didn’t feel anything….

Have you ever had one of those moments when you wish you didn’t feel anything at all?  I know it’s an awful thought but that’s exactly how I felt last night.  I think I was browsing my FB news feed when all of a sudden I felt sad and empty. Perhaps it was something I read or saw but it affected me.  At that very moment, I wished I didn’t feel anything at all.  So many thoughts flooded my mind… the past, present, and future.

There are moments in life, when the heart is so full of emotion That if by chance it be shaken, or into its depths like a pebble Drops some careless word, it overflows, and its secret, Spilt on the ground like water, can never be gathered together.

Although I wished it, I can’t imagine my life not being able to feel anything. Can you?  People think because I’m a tough cookie and strong-willed that I don’t hurt inside.  When people hurt you one too many times, the walls are built six feet tall and made of cement.

Guess what people, Melissa, does hurt inside. I know too well, the feelings of disappointment.  Feelings of rejection. Feelings of betrayal. Feelings of hurt. Feelings of emptiness. Feelings of crying my eyes out for hours.  I feel every emotion, I just show it differently that’s all.

How would life be if we didn’t feel anything? It would definitely be lifeless.  We would all look like zombies with blank expressions on our faces.  Our emotions define us.  Some people are more expressive and emotional, and others just have walls built but they are still gentle creatures on the inside.

It’s these moments that make you take a step back and look at the whole picture. 

Until later…

Peace & Love xox

One thought on “Sometimes I wish I didn’t feel anything….

  1. Life would be vastly better without emotions.
    Choices would be based entirely on reason. No vengence no hatred, no anger.
    Gratification would not exist, so we would have no reason not to put off indefinitely what wasn’t good for us. We could eat any food, since disgust would not exist. No one would be addicted to drugs, there would be no murder, no war, no crime. We could have a peaceful, orderly society with nothing to hold us back. No more wasted resorces on therapy, rehab, or suicide. There would be no need for frivilous peruits like television. No one would yell or hit each other anymore. Decepion and loneliness would disappear. Solutions to problems would come easily, because everyone would always be calm with thinking unclouded by emotion.

Leave a Reply

