Have I lost my humility?

I’m talking about humility today because I feel like I’ve lost mine for a moment. I was sitting in an older model car (2000) and I felt uncomfortable, sort of out-of-place. A million thoughts flooded my head at the moment then I started to have that internal battle with myself. Who the fuck was I to think I was less of a person for sitting my ass in an older car? I couldn’t believe that I would even think something so absurd. I am ashamed and embarrassed to say it but I needed a reality check. This moment of uncertainty got me thinking, Have I lost my humility? Yes, but …

I only lost it for about 5 seconds before I punched my inner arrogance in the face. I was born and raised in a happy humble home where I had everything I needed. Now as an adult I live a pretty good life, drive a nice car, but I should never forget my humble beginnings.

I called my mother and discussed my thoughts with her and she said, “My dear Melissa, that’s just a part of life. It’s easy to get accustomed to having the best things in life but you shouldn’t beat yourself up about your thoughts. I have heard many people say the same thing in different circumstances and with the economy these days, more and more people are feeling it.” Thank you, Mom.

Thinking about it..

I know many people who have had to downsize every aspect of their life and it wasn’t an easy transition, they too had moments of uncertainty, lost their humility but quickly regained it because at the end of the day, material things are just that…material things.

Do you wish to rise? Begin by descending. You plan a tower that will pierce the clouds? Lay first the foundation of humility.

What are your thoughts?
Peace and Love xoxo
Leave a Reply

