My eyes…

Sight, Is the ability to see.  How many of you take your sight for granted?  You might read this and think what a stupid question. Believe it or not, we all do at some point. Not getting your eyes checked yearly, proper use of contact lens wear, updating your prescriptions, wearing sunglasses without UV protection, and other things.  It’s not a joke.  Perhaps I’m writing this for myself and a reminder not to take my sight for granted.  Note to self: PAY ATTENTION! 😉

A few days ago I was experiencing dryness and irritation in my eyes due to my contact lens or better yet my lack of care.  I thought it was the pair I was wearing, got home and instead of resting my eyes I put on a new pair.  {WHAT A MISTAKE!}  I was out to dinner and I could no longer take the bothersome and rubbing of my eyes.  I ran to bathroom and literally ripped them off my eyeballs.  OUCH!  My eye makeup made it worse but the problem is that I failed to realize that I did not have my glasses in my purse as back up. #bigmistake. Now, I could not see.  Everything was a blur.  I was terrified.  Although I wasn’t completely seeing black all I could think about was I can’t imagine not having my sight.  It was the worst few hours of my life.  I made sure the hubs was at arm’s length at every moment in fear of not being able to find him.  It’s a feeling that can’t be described.

I am one of those people who should take better care of my eyes and I don’t.  My eyes don’t produce enough oxygen which means that I need to lubricate them often which I don’t.  I extend my contact lenses more than the required time { I use too}. I got an ulcer once, not pretty!  Blah blah.  I have now switched from wearing extended wear to daily wear.  I have no excuses now.  I take them off daily toss them in the trash and the next morning put on a fresh pair.  It’s heavenly.  Fresh eyes daily.  It’s definitely worth the price tag that comes with them.  My eyes are priceless, so the money isn’t an issue.  I highly recommend the daily wear!

Sometimes it just doesn’t matter.  When your eyes need a rest, they need to rest and breathe.

Lesson learned.

Until later… Peace & Love xox

One thought on “My eyes…

  1. Many years ago, I was on my way home on Highway 27 in Palm Beach County FL. At the time, that stretch of road only had one lane in each direction and no shoulder to pull off on the side. I was wearing contacts and one of them began to fold up in my eye. Problem was, I had no back up eyeglasses, like you. I drove 50 miles like that. It was hell and very scary.
    Most people do take their eyesight for granted. In my case, I have two neighbors who live next door and across the street who are blind. Every time I see them, I wonder what it must be like to not have your vision. It makes me thankful constantly. In fact, I am thankful for all my senses. To lose any would be devastating.
    BTW, great blog today!

Leave a Reply

