Expectations..

My dear abbey moment has inspired me to continue the discussion on Expectations.

Thank you, B.R. for the earlier suggestion. 😉

This morning I found myself angry, hurt and disappointed.  I expected a few simple words and didn’t get anything.  Let me ask you.  When you do something nice for someone, what do you expect that person to tell you?  You are probably saying to yourself.. The words I expect to hear are Thank you. You are correct! Two very simple words but so hard for people to say. I don’t know about you but those words come naturally to me in everyday life.  I expected it, didn’t receive it, and now have to accept that my friend is who he is, FLAWED!

My friend, I’m no longer hurt, angry or disappointed. I’ve learned a valuable lesson. THANK YOU!

“Holding on to anger is like grasping a hot coal with the intent of throwing it at someone else; you are the one who gets burned.” – Buddha

Here is another scenario…

Have you ever given someone a gift and never received a thank you?  It’s proper etiquette that once you receive a gift and open it that you follow it with a thank you note. It’s not difficult.  If you are not a thank you card type of person, then call them or send them a message.  Let them know that you have acknowledged the gift so that person feels appreciated.  It’s the proper thing to do.  Don’t assume he or she knows you’re thankful.

Since I’m on the subject…

These simple words are also very hard to say.

I love you. 

I’m sorry.

Please forgive me.

Never be afraid to express your feelings.  If you love someone, tell them.  Don’t assume they know!!

We all make mistakes, learn to ask for forgiveness and learn to be humble and apologize when it’s needed.  Being stubborn is not a good quality.

It’s definitely been a roller coaster day of emotions.  I feel like a fruit-loop trapped in a box of Cheerios. – HA!

Until tomorrow…  Peace & Love xox

Leave a Reply

