The Power of Music

Music is not only good for the body but food for the soul.  Music is Love, Music is Life, Music makes you feel good.  Music relieves stress. Music is therapeutic.  Music has the power to heal. Music inspires.  Music can describe the way you’re feeling. Music can be a period, exclamation point or a question mark.  Music just makes life better overall.

Music is everywhere – take a moment to stop and listen.   #music to my ears.

Music in any language speaks to the soul.  What is your favorite music genre? Alternative, Blues, Classical, Country, Dance, Electronic, Hip Hop/Rap, Indie, Jazz, Metal, Pop, R&B/Soul, Reggae, Rock —– you can’t just choose one. 😉

just whistle while you work… (can’t take that tune out your head now right!?) That’s the power of music.  Enjoy it!  😉

It’s not easy to define music:  I googled 😉 

“How to define music has long been the subject of debate; philosophers, musicians, and, more recently, various social and natural scientists have argued about what constitutes music. The definition has varied through history, in different regions, and within societies. Definitions vary as music, like art, is a subjectively perceived phenomenon. Its definition has been tackled by philosophers of art, lexicographers, composers, music critics, musicians, semioticians or semiologists, linguists, sociologists, and neurologists. Music may be defined according to various criteria including organization, pleasantness, intent, social construction, perceptual processes and engagement, universal aspects or family resemblances, and through contrast or negative definition.”

Looks like there are many different definitions depending on who you ask.   I decided to ask my Facebook friends what they felt music was to them.  Here are a few personal quotes. #thankyou

Music speaks to my head. It speaks to my heart. Music is the single most important form of art to me. It affects my mood. It comforts me and consoles me. It can be my accomplice. It can motivate me and inspire me. Hip hop moved my feet. Salsa moves my hips. Country music moves my heart.” – Betty Ruano

“La música es la expresion de sentimientos y emociones. Prefiero la música clásica.” – Wanda Plaza

“Let just say it’s plays a big part of my life. I making my living from it.” – Rafael A. Velez

“Aw man..y u gotta go there?!?..u know me and music we r best friends!..i can go on abt this topic but ill keep it short…music is the answer! Music is life!..music is love! Music breaks down barriers btween people and brings unity!!!” – Andrew Romero

“Music is the soundtrack of “a life well lead”.  So many of us relate a song to an important event in our lives; a past romance or maybe a difficult or challenging time.  Music is the punctuation marks of the run-on sentence that is life. So, to me, music represents my emotions, good and bad.” – Raymond Belanger

“Music is life, love, hate, desperation and admiration.” – Evelyn Hernandez

“Music is excitement, it makes me into someone else, it hypes me up.” – W.S.

“Music means happiness.  Makes me sleep better.” – Betty Izquierdo

“Music is Love and a time to relax.” – L.C.

There is something about the sound of music that brings people together.  MUSIC IS POWERFUL!

Be grateful and never take your ability to hear for granted. #thankful

Until tomorrow… Peace & Love xox

4 thoughts on “The Power of Music

Leave a Reply

